Front Row Stories and Dress Up Tales

The 13th Edition of Bangalore Fashion Week unfolded last week from 23rd July to 26th July. The event which showcased designers like Gaurang Shah, Ramesh Dembla, Amita Gupta; to name a few, was brought to a conclusion by Rina Dhaka.

Look 1: I decided to go for an Indian look with a plain black kurti and a royal blue waistcoat with peacock embroidery. I paired it with Amrapali Earrings and wine red matte lipstick. I wanted to create a traditional look, but didn’t want to look like I was going for a wedding! That was the reason for choosing a plain black kurti and matte lipstick. I really believe that matte lips create smart looks.

Straight Hair vs Curly Hair - Styling by Jean-Claude
Straight Hair vs Curly Hair – Styling by Jean-Claude

The best part was that I went with straight hair, but came back home with curls! Jean-Claude Biguine had set up a styling booth at the event with the most amazing stylists. I loved what they did, it was something I had wanted from a long time!

Look 2: To balance the good girl look I chose for the previous day, I decided to go edgy the next day. With a matte violet lipstick dabbed over my lips, I chose a blackΒ  lace top and a black formal skirt. Yes, black seemed to be the only color on my palette for Bangalore Fashion Week!

Gold leaf ear-cuff with a black floral lace top
Violet matte lips and a gold leaf ear-cuff with a black floral lace top

When you’re in black from head to toe, you definitely need one statement piece. For me, it was a golden leaf ear-cuff. Dramatically huge, its one piece you can spot from long distances! To give it its due, I gathered my hair around to one side(I still had slight curls from the previous day!!) and wore it on the other.

The front row gave us a chance to see the pieces of the collection up and close. We were able to comprehend the fabric based on its flow and movement. We were able to judge the fitting and finishing of the garments. We were able to study the embroidery and details, and understand the authenticity and investment that would have gone into different collections.

Front Row Bangalore Fashion Week
Front Row Excitement

Organized at Sheraton, the event had a booth set up for the BFW Labels where the designers put up their collections for display. This gave us a chance to feel the fabrics, understand the construction techniques and see any other detail we would have missed at the show.BFW LabelsAnd that wraps up my experience at the AW15 Edition of Bangalore Fashion Week! It’s always fun to dress up, see the work of talented designers and meet people! Looking forward to the next front row story that awaits me!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

