What I Wore – Bangalore Fashion Week-Day 3

collage

I decided to go for a complete Indian look, and picked up my Dabu printed Kurti and Dhoti Pants to create it. The two pieces come in a background of indigo with small flower butis(motifs) in white. It displays the famous Dabu printing of Rajasthan, and I feel proud to own a piece in this print.IMG_20150124_185347

I really liked the unique cut used in this Kurta, the red tassles at the ends add to the simple richness of this piece. The question then was whether to pair this with plain leggings and allow it to stand out by itself or pair it with dhoti pants in the same print. Sticking to the regular and safe option didn’t seem to interest me much and I went for the latter. I loved the look of the overall prints extending from head to toe. It proved to be extremely comfortable and roomy, which was something I was thankful for while being at BFW for the whole day.

I styled it with silver colored tribal earrings with inlaid stones. These earrings had a jhumka and crescent earcuffs attached to it. A banjaran bag in colourful colours complimented the indigo dress. It had coins attached to the flap, and this little detail makes me love this bag even more. I wore red caged shoes with chunky heels to go with the red tassels on the Kurta. Thus, my look was complete and I was one happy girl.

About Dabu Printing – An art form unique to Rajasthan, Dabu printing, now popularly known as ‘Akola Dabu’ is a mud resist process by using wooden blocks. A desired design is sketched and covered with clay. Saw dust is sprinkled on this, and this sticks to the cloth as the clay dries. When the cloth is dyed, the portions of the cloth not covered with clay catch color. It is then allowed to dry and then washed to remove the clay.  For multiple colors, the above process is repeated. This goes to show the laborious work involved in all forms of block printing.

5 comments

Leave a Reply

